In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How do we deal with those causes?

In recent years, the crime rate has increased significantly around the world, causing widespread concern among the public. In this essay, some reasons for this issue will be discussed, followed by two potential solutions which can be employed to overcome it. To begin with, one of the key contributors to the high crime rate is poverty and joblessness. Economic disparities can lead to a lack of opportunities, pushing individuals towards criminal activities. This is evident in a statistical report of Canadian National Crime Prevention which reveals that people from families with an annual income of less than 15,000$ are at 1.5 times greater risk of conducting unlawful actions than those from other higher income groups. Additionally, the growth in the amount of crime is also attributed to the availability of entertainment options with inappropriate content. With the widespread use of the Internet, tons of violent games and movies are uploaded on social media platforms, arousing human curiosity, especially young people, and stimulating them to imitate misconduct. To illustrate, the FBI reported that offenders who were affected by violent computer games contributed to 50% of school shooting cases in the U.S. To solve the problem, firstly, governments might consider increasing their investment in campaigns aimed at mitigating famine and unemployment. This can be educational programs, training courses and financial aid to struggling families. For example, locking down during the COVID-19 pandemic has made many Vietnamese students quit their universities because of financial shortages. Under such circumstances, the Vietnamese government offers them vocational training courses and introduces them to employers after they complete their courses. Thanks to this policy, they can make ends meet to support themselves and their families, avoiding the risk of engaging in unlawful activities. Secondly, it is crucial for governments to have more control over online entertainment forms. This can be done by strictly imposing more rules and regulations on creating content, especially for children, and setting up a legal age to access such content. In conclusion, the rise in crime can be driven by poverty and unemployment as well as the easy accessibility of violent games and videos which are available online. To deal with this issue, governments should allocate more funds to social programs which emphasize minimizing famine and joblessness. At the same time, it is important to pay more attention to the videos and games which are posted online.