Around the world, the rich are becoming richer and the poor are becoming poorer. What is the cause of this? What solutions are there to tackle it?

Since the industrial era, the standards of living have significantly increased in developed parts of our society. Nevertheless, imbalances may be pointed out between the occidental world and other poorer countries in development. Thus, it begs the question: What are the drivers of these inequalities and which remedies can be highlighted?I will aim to answer these questions separately with supporting rationale herein. To begin with, one of the undeniable causes of this nonequilibrium between areas of the world is Capitalism. Indeed, not only does the Occident have the very daunting proclivity to take advantage of the poorest, but also their very selfish commercial policies lead subsequent governments to be corrupted. Moreover, another reason is that the diplomatic powers between states on the international scene are unequally shared. Thus, while Europeans and Americans are found to reap the benefits of any international decisions, others might suffer from the latter. However, even though these injustices remain due to egocentric behaviours from the Occident, some solutions might be elaborated to prune their adverse impacts. Firstly, since the afterwar,period private enterprise has imposed itself as the only economic and financial option, today’s civilization could stand back and reforge the very pillars of its functioning. Owing to this, some other more equality promoting models would be put forward in order to tackle negative aspects of individualism as well as spread riches. Another fix that can be established in parallel with the latter is creating broader institutions that focus on defending equal power between people and consequently, rather than founding smaller countries put aside, their rights and interests would be protected. To conclude, Capitalism and the unilateralism of developed countries are inevitable drivers of today’s disparities among humans. Accordingly,the very foundations of our society have been rendered fragile and if nothing is done against the flow, dramatic consequences would fall down on poorer populations.