Online communication has overtaken face to face meetings at work. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In our modern world, the use of online platforms has become increasingly widespread, often replacing face-to-face meetings in the workplace. This essay will review this topic in detail, and argue why I think that moving meetings to cyberspace is a positive development. On the one hand, offline meetings can offer a wide range of benefits. To begin with, in face-to-face conversations employees will not have a networking barrier and can speak freely, demonstrating more active behaviour and may offer more innovative ideas as a result. For instance, efficiency might grow due to control over workers which will allow them to be aware of what they are doing, while in distance working it might not be possible to monitor progress and handle employees, or it can even lead to cheating during work. On the other hand, the digitalization of meetings can be seen as progress over the years, since there can be a lot of opportunities through this method, ranging from comfortable timetables to fewer distractions during working time. Normally, online conferences and meetings are so common, as it allow reduced occasions when people miss meetings and boost productivity, since individuals can do their work and attend conferences at convenient times. For example, online meetings are so common in such big companies as Google, Apple and Microsoft, since in online summits it is not required to rent a room or wait for people. In conclusion, this essay reviewed this topic in detail and explained why I agree that traditional meetings are good but the pros of online conferences outweigh its disadvantages.