Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

The feeling of patriotism plays a vital role in the growth of the country. There is a bunch of people who thinks that being loyal to the nation can create issues and has a lot of drawbacks whereas other think it helps in the development of the nation. In recent years, a plethora of merits has been observed. To begin with, citizens’ loyalty has helped in the development of a nation. In order to contribute to the development of the nation, People have started using locally made products. It has helped in generating a lot of employment opportunities and eventually, it has also helped in boosting the economy of the country. One of the prime ministers of India has launched the Make in India campaign. The whole purpose of this campaign is to create awareness about using local products and to encourage them to start their own ventures. He succeeds too. Thus, a significant incline in the export of the goods has been observed in the last few years and I am sure it will rise even more over the period of time. On the contrary, In a country, you will find people from different belief systems and practising different religions. Moreover, You will also come across migrants but in the name of patriotism social evils like racism, murder, and bullying have been born. Rather than treating all humans equally, people are different from those who are not from the same group or community. People tend to help or protect only those who are from the same groups or casts. This is one of the reasons, In India, the tension between two specific communities has been always a matter of concern. To conclude, Patriotism has certainly numerous benefits in contrast to demerits. One should always look for overall development and growth. Moreover, humanity should be the top-most priority.