It was predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time than past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

It is sometimes argued that due to the advancements in technology,individuals will have more leisure time compared to 20th century.I partly agree with the statement for some reasons outlined below. On the one hand, we have every reason to believe that technology would bring a variety of good points to our lives.The key rationale behind this is that the internet and digital communication tools can do people a favour to spend time by improving information exchange and communication. Therefore,tasks such as online meetings and document sharing become faster and more convenient. In addition,working remotely can help worker save commuting time,which can allow them to have more free time for themselves and their families.With the developments of robots and smart software,housework and office work will be automated,which can create quality time to unwind and recharge their energy. On the other hand,I believe that technological advancements still have some obstacles to our lives. Firstly,machines have been replacing humans in many areas,which can spark intense competition in the labour market as well as a reduction in the number of available jobs. Secondly, technology can cause distraction and lack of focus. Thus, using social networks too much can affect negatively mental health and reduce the quality of square time,when users always have to check messages and respond immediately. From what has been discussed above,we may draw the conclusion,that despite the fact that technology would offer a wide range of merits, this still has several shortcomings,which are needed to clear up.