Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people believe that corporates should hire employees who are creative and independent in their jobs, while others argue that it is more important to consider people who can obey orders and demonstrate a good teamwork. In my opinion, I think it depends on what kind of job it is, and what position in a company is being advertised. Firstly, creative individuals are better at problem-solving. For example, petrol and oil are estimated to run out in the next fifty years; Elon Musk had then decided to tackle this problem by popularizing electricity as a cheaper, more sustainable alternative to fuel the cars,. Hence, it is beneficial for the enterprises as these people are able to think critically and come out with an appropriate solution. Secondly, independent workers are needed to manage emergencies. For example, a medical surgeon needs to be able to make a quick decision when a patient's major artery is severed. There will be no time for the surgeon to consult another person as time is limited. Thus it is important for the doctor to manage the patient independently. On the other hand, firms can be more coordinated and organized if they hire people with good teamwork and who are able to follow orders. For example, a basketball team would want to hire a player who can coordinate the team and win the matches, rather than those who just want to show off their skills and neglect the team's victory. In addition, a cohesive group will allow fewer mistakes to be made, as everyone will look out for each other and provide help when necessary. In conclusion, I believe that both attributes are extremely advantageous for an enterprise. A company should recruit an employee based on the job scope of the position.