In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disanvantages of giving children this message?

It is common for many cultures to tell the youth that they can get anything they want as long as they struggle enough. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits first, then describe the disadvantages of this message. On the one hand, telling young people such a message has some benefits. First, they will have unlimited dreams. This is down to young generations having the motivation that everything is possible. For example, nowadays, most of the unprivileged students in Indonesia are successful in entering the Ivy League universities, such as Columbia, Stanford, and Harvard. Furthermore, this kind of message can lead young people to be highly confident about their future. Take Jokowi, for example; he was nothing until the young version of him became a Solo Mayor (one of the cities in Indonesia) and now a president. On several occasions, he frequently mentioned that his achievement would not have happened if he did not believe in his dream and strive for it. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks, like the tendency to blame themselves and just play it safe. These people will question why they fail when some people get what they want. As a result, they tend to have low self-confidence. If this happens, either they will limit their opportunity by not taking any risks or, in the worst case, these young people will end their lives. For instance, it was reported that a lot of Korean students who choose to be ordinary sellers give up on their dreams because they no longer believe in their self-worth. Besides, in the worst case, young generations decided to commit suicide just because they could not enter the universities that they wished for. To conclude, having unlimited dreams and shaping them to have high self-esteem are the benefits of telling the juvenils juvenile that they can accomplish their desired things by struggling enough. However, it can cause some drawbacks, such as making them a safe player, and they will blame themselves if they are unable to get those things.