Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days the use of traditional medicines is increasing among people with health conditions rather than getting treatment from their physicians. While traditional medicines can be effective, they do not have standardized dosage which is why I believe that it is a negative development, whereas physicians can give more effective medications that are scientifically proven. Although traditional medicines can cure some diseases, they can also have side effects because they do not have a fixed dose. Its dosage relies on the symptoms of the patient. If the patient's symptoms are exacerbating, they usually increase the dose because they believe that it will be more effective. However, this can have a bad effect on the patient. For instance, patients with kidney problems cannot take high amounts of herbal medications because it can lead to the accumulation of potassium in their body which can cause heart attack. Thus, these drugs are not the optimal approach to dealing with health conditions. On the other hand, doctors give patients drugs that have been scientifically tested to cure illnesses. They are tested on real patients with specific symptoms and they were monitored all throughout the course of treatment. They can give more precise treatment, and as a result, patients will be able to recover faster. For instance, tuberculosis cannot be treated by taking herbs such as lagundi, it needs a combination of antibiotics in order to treat the infection. In conclusion, some people seek alternative medications in order to get a cure instead of their physician. However, I believe that this is a negative development because they do not have standard doses while doctors can give medicines that have been proven to be effective.