Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on Society as a whole?

Several societies are still struggling with illiteracy in the modern world. There seem to be two leading causes and some effects on this issue which will be discussed in the essay. Possibly, the prime cause would be poverty, especially in undeveloped countries. This matter is mostly due to the economic turbulences, unemployment, and the ever-rising number of lowering-income people. Therefore, the deprived people cannot pay the high rate of educational affairs. The second reason appears to be the lack of an appropriate educational system in some less-affluent countries, mainly in some countries in which the governments allocate a considerable proportion of their budgets to the civil war. It seems that a balance between the institutions' buildings and the population cannot be established. Furthermore, they are probably not able to afford educational expenses like books, educational aids, and, more importantly, skilled teachers. As a result, many children are deprived of education and remain illiterate. The effect of this problem on societies can be pretty irreversible. Firstly, poverty impacts all aspects of people's lives, especially in the educational system. Since deprived people are struggling with their primary needs for life, they cannot meet the expense of their children's training. So the children remain illiterate or less- literate. The illiteracy issue will be continued in the next generation; likewise, less-literate or illiterate parents are not qualified to find an appropriate job. A further widely observed effect is on lack of sufficient educational structure in the civil war involvement countries, which has a long-term and fundamental impact on the nation's ability to improve. To conclude, poverty and long-term civil war seem to be the main causes of illiteracy in societies. They considerably affect the nation's fundamental education and improvement in all aspects.