Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people argue that we no longer remember the original meaning of festivals and that most of us treat them as opportunities to have fun. While I agree that enjoyment seems to be the priority during festival times, I disagree that people have forgotten what these festivals mean. Admittedly, religious and traditional festivals have certainly become times for celebration. In China, Dragon Boat Festival is a good example of a festival period when people are most concerned with shopping, sending and receiving gifts, and enjoying traditional meals with their families. Most people look forward to it as a holiday period, rather than a time to commemorate a hero. Similar behaviour can be seen during religious festivals, such as Christmas. People associate this occasion with decorating their homes, watching firework displays, and perhaps going to large events in shopping malls or local parks, in other words, enjoyment is people ’s primary goal. Nevertheless, I disagree with the idea that the underlying meaning of festivals has been forgotten. In China, children learn in detail about the reasons for celebrating the Dragon Boat Festival, the Spring Festival and a variety of festivals. For example, in early June, they usually sing songs in memory of Qu Yuan, and may even perform musical plays telling the story of his death. Families also play an important role in passing on the knowledge of festivals ’ deeper significance to the next generation. The same is true for festivals that have a religious background such as Christmas, in the sense that they generally learn the stories behind these occasions at an early age. In conclusion, although people mainly want to enjoy themselves during festivals, I believe that they are still aware of the reasons for these celebrations.