Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some politicians claim that economics is the most important point when talking about the development of a country while others believe that there are other points such as freedom and human rights that are also crucial. In my opinion, despite the fact that the national economy is important, how joyful the citizens feel about their lives is even more vital. It is undeniable that economic progress affects living conditions. Since massive infrastructures rely on immense budgets, a sturdy, practical, and convenient society cannot be built without huge investments. As a result, how rich a country is has become definitely relevant to the feelings of living in that place. For example, some African countries lack fertile land to plant crops, and they also suffer from the economic shortage to import foods, let alone build greenhouses to maintain the harvest. However, Dubai, located in the desert, have the most luxurious foods and advanced facilities in the world. Nevertheless, freedom and human rights also influence the extent of how good the residents consider their lives to be since facilities and infrastructures bring only the exterior aspect of a healthy society. For example, Shanghai is famous for its state of Asian financial centre, but its citizens claimed that they were shanghaied to be trapped by the policy during the outbreak of COVID-19. They were exploited of the freedom to go out and the rights to communicate and appeal to the government. Therefore, there are other goals indeed much more crucial than the economic progress. In conclusion, from my perspective, the mental health of the residents is much more vital than the materialistic aspect because no one wants to be forced to obligate to some unreasonable rules, no matter how wealthy the country is.