In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Consuming junk food has been popular these days. In some nations, many folks are experiencing life- threating diseases due to consuming convenient food. Thus, it is essential for the government to increase the tax of this kind of meal. In my perspective, I disagree with this argument as it will give negative effect to the small business and this habit will not be longlasting. This essay will elucidate the detailed opinions. On the one hand, generating this regulation might cause an instant effect as people might immediately stop eating this menu. Moreover, if the authority offers some additional consequences for those who still consume a high amount of this food, society will certainly never consume it again. For instance, recently, the government has increased the price of petrol that makes people convert their cooking method from petrol to gas. It is because the society could not afford to buy it and try to find the alternative way in solving this problem. On the other hand, this practice might present several impacts. Firstly, It could offer detrimental effects to the small businesses as they have increase the price of their products which cause the lose of their customers. Consequently, they might have to close their businesses and try another occupation, unlike they become economic burden for the countries. For instance, recently, in Indonesia, the government has increased the tax of palm oil which encourage society to use another resource for cooking such as air frying. Nevertheless, the palm oil resellers gain some loses due to this trend. Secondly, this new habit of less-consuming this cuisine will not stay longer as they do not have educational reason why they have to stop eating that comfort menu. Then, when the government take down this tax system, society will start eating this convenient food over and over. To conclude, tax system excel to change people’s behaviour instantly. Nonetheless, I have an opposite opinion as it might generate a new problem for the authority due to a high number of unemployment. Besides, people might have a wrong perspective of why they have to stop buying this meal. Accordingly, the government should provide alternative jobs for small businesses who will be impacted by the regulation and also educate the society about this issue by giving them a massive campaign.