Some people think that success of life is based on hard work and determination.Others, however, believe that there are more important factors such as having money or good appearance.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, netizens are discussing which is more important for individuals' success, determination and effort, or external advantages such as a handsome appearance. In my view, external advantages do play a role in one's achievement, nevertheless, what is decisive is people's efforts and persistence. Although I emphasise the significance of endeavours, I have no aversion to conceding that external factors are worth consideration too. According to research conducted by Havard University, in the US, females who have blonde hair and blue eyes which are usually viewed as the characteristics of beauty, find it easier to find a position among managers. The original intention of the research is definitely to promote gender equality in the labour market, while it incidentally discloses the reality that external factors like appearance do function in people's achievement. In other words, people obtain success to some extent by being blessed by chances. However, this does not mean individuals have no choice but to surrender to an elusive destiny. On the contrary, it is precisely because we have clearly recognised the role played by external factors that we profoundly realise the meaning of efforts when persons without outstanding appearance, like Elon Musk, achieve remarkable success. It is irrefutable that Musk is a common person in terms of appearance, but this does not hinder him from establishing Tesla, and SpaceX. In the process of setting up these companies, as Musk said in an interview, what is most decisive is a heart that never succumbs and persistent efforts. In light of this, people's efforts significantly outweigh those factors which are out of control in one's success. In summary, although having money or a good appearance is conducive to obtaining success, the key element in that is still one's own efforts and determination. Therefore, we ought to pay more attention to what we can create other than what we lack compared to others.