In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Consuming junk food has been popular these days. In some nations, many folks are experiencing life-threatening diseases due to consuming convenient food. Thus, it is essential for the government to increase the tax on this kind of meal. In my perspective, I disagree with this argument as it will give a negative effect on the small business. This essay will elucidate the detailed opinions. On the one hand, generating this regulation might cause an instant effect as people might immediately stop eating this menu. Moreover, if the authority offers some additional consequences for those who still consume a high amount of this food, society will certainly never consume it again. For instance, recently, the government has increased the price of petrol that makes people convert their cooking method from petrol to gas. It is because society could not afford to buy it and try to find an alternative way in solving this problem. On the other hand, this practice might present an impact as it could offer detrimental effects to the small businesses as they have to increase the price of their products which causes the loss of their customers. Consequently, they might have to close their businesses and try another occupation, unlike they become economic burdens for the countries. For instance, recently, in Indonesia, the government has increased the tax on palm oil which encourage society to use other resources for cooking such as air frying. Nevertheless, the palm oil resellers gain some losses due to this trend. To conclude, the tax system excels to change people’s behaviour instantly. Nonetheless, I have an opposite opinion as it might generate a new problem for the authority due to a high unemployment. Accordingly, the government should provide alternative jobs for small businesses that will be impacted by the regulation.