The government is spending a lot of money to discover life in other planets, some people think that government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing problems of public. To what extent you agree?

Many people argue that the government should use the money in the right way to solve the instant social issues, like medical and economic. They should not spend so much money on other planets for the reason of exploring more resources. I totally agree with it. To begin with, I have a concern about the effectiveness and unpredictable return of this investigation. Many countries, like US and China, have started the space investigation over 50 years, but they have only gotten limited information so far, for example, we only know the environment on Mars is a bit similar to the earth, both have the water and soil, which the human beings are possible to live there. Consequently, the return is not proof, and the timeline cannot be estimated, meanwhile, we still need to invest much more in this. Another important reason is many public issues are needed to solve urgently, like housing, medical and economic problems. In recent years, the covid virus happens globally, although the virus situation is getting controlled, and the people are resuming their normal life. However, we can see the lacking of medical resources, the overload of hospitals and the increase in the unemployment rate are all happening. Government should try its best to tackle these problems. In conclusion, we should make good use of the expenditure and help the people in need. I understand space investigation is a long term project to deal with the resource matter, therefore we should save energy and effectively use the resources.