Television as powerful educational tool or mindless entertainment ? What extent do you agree or disagree ?

One section of people believes that TV is just an amusement tool and does not help in improving an individual knowledge. To me, it depends on how it is being used by a person. I strongly disagree with the point that TV fails to improve our knowledge. This essay discusses my view in detail on this point. There are numerous cases where it helps people to become successful in their fields. For instance, a student preparing for the competitive exams can utilize the TV programs which are modelled for this and achieve their career aspirations. In addition to this, the businessman can focus on the related business news given by experts on the various TV channels and get benefits from these. This is very obvious that if a TV medium is used with focused interest, it will undoubtedly help everyone. On the flip side, it is being used by the majority of people for just relaxing purposes only. In fact, the proportion of people using this way is far more than the ones who use the TV for the aforementioned career advantage purposes. This huge percentage has caused many people to feel that it is adding no value to society instead of making people to thoughtless. As we discussed the TV advantages in an earlier paragraph, those advantages are overlooked by certain individuals. It would be highly useful to society if the government takes some actions in letting to know the benefits of using TV medium. In conclusion, it is individuals who choose how they utilize the TV rather than seeing it as just an entertaining medium. Saying this, TV is an added advantage to all of us if properly used.