Some people claim that not enough waste from homes is recycled and that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Recycling is one of the best ways to safeguard our environment. Many people argue that since we don’t have any mandate from government officials, citizens are not indulged in channelling their waste. I absolutely resonate with this though and will share my viewpoint in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, only stringent policies will help us to overcome the waste management challenge. Currently, a handful of residents segregate rubbish and prepare compost of biodegradable waste, while others don’t pay heed. Only when an order is passed, do people tend to obey things. For instance, in India people were inspired to ban single-use plastic when communicated by a famous political leader, however as it’s not a compulsion, people gradually ignore this move. Perhaps a stern law on the same, will help to mitigate the usage. Moreover, government personnel have the power to penalise those who fail to follow legislation. Consequently, this will encourage people to abide by the rules and abate use and throw culture. Furthermore, activists are the real protagonist to spread awareness among different locals to reuse junk but are it just the tip of the iceberg. In other words, if they are backed by legal rules then they can seize this opportunity to work in collaboration with people to achieve greater outcomes. Eventually, with effort and time, this move will be ingrained in everyone and thus individuals will consciously follow suit and strive to reprocess garbage. Thus, mass movement will help each and every household to reuse piles of debris. To summarise, people usually don’t tend to break the regulations and hence having a legal guideline will assist people to take the recycling process into genuine consideration. Social workers and the common man could work hand in hand to make this possible. It will eventually make everyone habitual of reusing the trash.