In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In many parts of the world, there is a tendency for life expectancy to increase. Some argue that this circumstance presents issues for governments, while others think that the elderly are beneficial to society. This essay will argue that wisdom and experience outweigh concerns about the cost of pensions. To begin with, one of the lessons that people can learn from the elderly is wisdom. Since persons of advanced age are considered to be wise, people often ask them for advice in life. For instance, families often look up to their grandparents when facing difficulties in life. Another advantage is that senior citizens already have much experience, such as work experience. Many young people, who are newcomers in the work industry, often make repetitive mistakes, leading them to struggle in their career paths. Avoiding this can be done by asking advice from the elderly; thus, they will be more conscious about making the same mistakes over and over again. The main drawback of having an elderly population is the cost of pensions, often considered a government burden. Some individuals might think that by giving pensions to the elderly, other sectors will lack budget, which makes it impossible for the government to effectively execute prioritized programs. Although pensions may require more budget, engaging the private sector can be implemented to subsidize the budget. Many insurance companies often target the elderly to invest in their companies. Therefore, by collaborating with these companies, the government can benefit from long-term investments, and the elderly can also receive their retirement funds regularly.