Goverment should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Over a period of time, there has been a booming breakthrough in methods of transportation. Among those, trains, as well as motor vehicles are considered the most popular means of transportation. Although there are some commentators who believe that the government should allocate more money to railways rather than roads, I strongly inclined to the view that the transportation budget should be balanced between railways and roads. To begin with, private vehicles play an important role in daily life. They are considered to be the easiest and most convenient method of transportation. In addition, they are ideal for short distances where trains can not be used. Furthermore, roads can reach everywhere, whereas trains can not. Constructing and maintaining roads will solve the problem of traffic congestion as well as boost road safety. To add on, in recent covid times, the mass travel is not good because the transmission of infections spread more in the crowd. Also, there is no restriction on luggage in private cars which is also advantageous. On other hand, trains can carry more people. Moreover, they are eco-friendly, unlike cars and buses, they do not emit poisonous gases which pollute the air. Another advantage of using trains is that they do not get stuck in traffic. Not just this, trains also tend to be faster. In most countries around the world, trains fares are considerably lower than bus or taxi fares. So, railway transportation is cheaper than road transportation. To add on, shipping of large volume of goods is also very much possible through railways. In conclusion, roadways and railways are both essential for making travelling hassle free for people. Hence, I do not agree with the argument that the government should invest more in railways. Rather, it should give equal importance to both modes of transport.