Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men, even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50% is female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

It is widely observed that most senior positions in different organisations are usually given to men, regardless of 50% of the workforce is women. Some people believe that more managerial posts should be offered to women. I strongly support the given idea because it is important to avoid any possible discrimination. Firstly, women should be given a chance to be executives in order to reduce divisiveness and maintain the balance in working structures. There is no vivid difference in personal skills development, as everybody can be a responsible worker and a perfect manager. This implementation may create a more supportive environment for women and force them to realise themselves more freely. According to studies, women perform better than men in 17 of 19 leadership competencies, particularly with tasks that involve critical thinking, being resilient and displaying integrity and honesty. It means that women clearly have what it takes to be excellent leaders. Secondly, if even half of such high-level vacancies are allocated to women, the bias that they often experience regarding work will be alleviated. For many years, the only female social role that existed was a mother. Now, it is still rather deviant for society when women become leaders with great responsibilities, because they tend to take care of children. As a result, most of the female top managers feel uncomfortable violating society’s expectations. So, companies should give more opportunities for women, in terms of getting senior positions, to change this societal phenomenon. In conclusion, I advocate for an equal distribution of leading posts among both genders. This will probably contribute to a balance in society and help women to become free of social stigmas.