Media coverage of violent crime frightens people and encourages criminals. Some people say it should be banned from newspapers and TV programmes. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Beka

There is no denying the fact that safety plays a vital role in modern society. While it is a commonly held belief that reports should not cover violent crime because this encourages criminals, others argue that these types of reports should be reported to increase awareness. In my opinion, I strongly agree that these types of reports encourage criminals, and they should be banned from the media. To begin with, news coverage of violent crime encourages criminal activities, because people develop an idea about their crimes. In other words, they understand how police officers analyse crimes, and they can discover an idea of how to escape. In addition, this leads to understanding the location of security cameras, and they can build up their plan away from them. For example, a study conducted by the Department of Safety at the University of Miami showed a correlation between high exposure to violent media and an increased rate of crime. Another point to consider is that people who read the newspapers about the recent cases may feel unsafe. It is also possible to say that these reports stimulate the release of stress hormones from the recipient's brain, and this leads to poor sleep quality. Moreover, individuals who watch these reports increase their susceptibility to develop anxiety. For instance, a questionnaire conducted in China by the Police Department showed that people who watched violent crime reports were more likely to develop depression. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that high exposure to violent media increases aggressive behaviour and encourages criminals