In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is highly debatable whether couples should be obliged to earn equally for the family after their marriage. I vehemently espouse that working for both husband and wife can be conducive since they can ensure a good social and financial status for the family. To begin with, in order to ensure financial stability of the family, it is the duty of both spouses to earn money. To explain, in the current era, where inflation is being observed by many nations, it can be difficult for one person to take all the financial responsibility. Hence, if both start to earn for their family, it not only leads them to gain a good economical state in the future but also ensure the good education of their children. In addition, when both are working then this can ramp up a better understanding and respect in their relationships. Hence, there is a sense of equality among them and no one dominates each other. For instance, A survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March 2015 revealed that a 35% decrease in the cases of fights and misunderstanding had been observed among the families of married working couples. On the other side, some people raise concerns about the care of children of working couples. When both parents are employed then they have less time for their children which results in mental and physical issues in their offspring. For example, children may feel loneliness and sometimes they may indulge themselves into bad company due to lack of supervision by their working parents. However, some family time on weekends or having dinner together can be a solution for this. To conclude, I completely agree that for a strong social and financial conditions, it is certainly a responsibility of both spouses to earn for the their families but they need to make sure the good health of their children.