Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons? Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is a growing proportion of the world population with a propensity to delay the birth of their firstborn. While the factors of emotional maturity and financial stability of parents impact this decision, it is also evident that the benefits of this choice overrule the negative consequences. There is an increasing number of individuals who prefer to prioritise their career and search for identity over having offspring. On a global scale, there is ample competition in every aspect of human existence. Consequently, the notion of monetary ambition has been established among the wider populace and expanding one’s bloodline is no longer a priority. For instance, the prospects of earning an annual target amount and owning a property in an affluent suburb have taken precedence over entering matrimony and having offspring. In addition, society has commenced valuing the psychological and intellectual capacity of its inhabitants, thus transforming the concept of parenting into a fully-fledged, constructed and organised endeavour. This could be substantiated by the literature published by a plethora of psychologists who contend that parents who enter parenthood in their early to mid-thirties are more likely to overcome challenges that arise from raising children than their younger counterparts. Hence, it is apparent that the modern community value professional and personal growth over the family as a unit. However, it should be noted that the aforementioned influences to not having children in their youth also bear some disadvantages. It is acknowledged that the age of a mother has a direct impact on her ability to give birth to a healthy infant. Delay in pregnancy has often been touted to be the fundamental cause of various conditions like Down Syndrome and Autism. Furthermore, this trend could also impact the mental well-being of youngsters in their crucial stages of life. For example, a fifty-year-old parent may not have the same level of energy to bond with their ten-year-old son or daughter as a much younger father and mother would. As a result, a large population of children are at risk of not receiving adequate enrichment which is integral to their growth from their parents. In conclusion, it can be stated that the elements of career and individuality have prompted many to opt for starting families at a later age. Conversely, the detrimental impacts of this resolution are also visible for scrutiny. Yet, through consideration of the facts that have been discussed in this essay, it can be concluded that the benefits of mature parenthood outweigh the negative impacts that cloud it.