Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide the public with a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With increasing crime and criminals, the world is becoming an unsafe place to live. Most governments believe that the easiest way to reduce crime is to put criminals behind the bars. However many believe that providing a better education will help people to stay on the right path. It is agreed that education can help reduce criminals which will help in reducing crime overall. However, in some situations, it is essential to capture criminals and keep them in a cell away from the public. This essay will explicate how education can be used as a weapon against crime and the reasons why at times prisons are essential to solve the problem. To begin with, delivering a better education regarding the country's laws can make people aware of the consequences of illegal activities. There are some people who get into illicit activities unknowingly or by peer pressure and keep going deeper into that. For example, teenagers consuming illegal drugs is becoming one of the major issues in the country, which can be resolved to quite an extent by educating kids about the harms that it can bring to their lives in the future and the consequences they might have to face. Another example is people hunting endangered animals which is a serious offence in the country that many people are unaware of. In short, education can help reduce the number of crimes and criminals. However, there are people that indulge in criminal activities knowing all the consequences. There are many serious offences that people commit with their own wish. For example, serial killers cannot be left among the public because they are a danger to society and humanity. They need to be inside a prison where they cannot cause any more harm to lives and property. To summarize, education is key to solving many problems but some situations need to be dealt with in other ways. Governments should take steps to educate children and the general public so as to stop people from committing crimes, however, imprisonment is also necessary for serious crimes.