In many countries paying things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, digitization has vast applications in each and every field. Digital money or payment via mobile applications is one such advancement which is becoming more acceptable among people worldwide. There are certain merits and demerits of this developing trend which will be discussed further in the below paragraphs. To begin with, cyber security in many parts of developing countries is still a question mark. Spending money by clicking a few buttons on a device can be scary for most middle-class people. To cite an example, one such incident occurred with me while I was ordering food online and had already paid for it but the delivery person requested the payment in cash as the restaurant had not received the bill value. Due to a lack of appropriate regulation I was forced to make double pay. Therefore, trusting such apps for payments can be daunting. On the other hand, there are some benefits of this service. Firstly, people today are not required to carry a huge amount in their pockets as applications like Paytm, Paypal and many more are easily available everywhere. Furthermore, swiping a card or scanning a QR code can be learnt within minutes. Secondly, online transactions are boon to working-class society. For instance, in the older,days people had to stand in a queue to deposit or withdraw their money in the bank which is not the case now as the introduction of bank websites has made these methods obsolete. Thus, the digital mode of payment is simple and can be easily put into daily practice. All in all, it is evident that paying for things using cell phones is widely popular today in most countries as it is convenient and hassle-free. Although safety is a concern, in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.