When cars and cyclists use the same roads, there are often problems. Why is this the case? What are the solutions?

An increasing concern for many governments around the world are the fatal consequences of sharing roads between drivers and cyclists. The major reason why it occurs is strongly correlated to the paucity of bicycle lanes. Authorities could introduce campaigns and new infrastructures to allow amateurs and professionals to follow their passion. To begin with, the rampant cyclists ' growth is challenged by the scarcity of infrastructures to accommodate everyone. The increasing interest in this sport is due to the recent wins of Italian cyclists in the Tour France and the idea that cycling is the best way to lose weight. What this particular cardio exercise does is burn fats in a quicker way compared to traditional exercises which are even more demanding. As a result of this cyclists are overcrowding roads because they do not have alternatives to work out. There are, however, some solutions that can be adopted such as the construction of new facilities and more sensitise campaigns. The more amateur cyclists there are, the more bicycle lanes should be built. Particularly, this solution does not require astronomically high expense owing to the necessity of a single material, the concrete. In addition, governments should heavily subsidise campaigns to educate people to follow the highway code. If people are completely informed about this, the rate of accidents will drastically drop. To conclude, the rising interest in the sport and in a healthy lifestyle leads people to cycle on the streets due to the lack of alternative ways. Therefore, with the aim to tackle these eerie events, governments should create new opportunities for cyclists.