For some people, shopping is not just about buying what is necessary, but is a form of entertainment. Do you think it is a positive of negative development?

In a section of society, shopping is being considered as an entertainment activity rather than just purchasing essential items. I vehemently espouse that this trend is welcoming as people have full right to entertain themselves by shopping for their favourite commodities and to obtain a level of happiness. To begin, with the advancement of super markets, shopping activity among people has tremendously changed. To explain, such markets have a variety of items for all age groups with phenomenal discounts which sometimes induce people to purchase unnecessary items just for fun and to look good. In addition, such activities make them happy as well as satisfied. When people buy something for themselves without considering any domestic requirement, they get a unique level of peace and joy in them and the same was mentioned in a survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March, 2015. However, there are some negative points of such purchasing. On the other hand, when people supersede the importance of purchasing essential items with commodities for fun, this may deteriorate their financial state for a longer period. To clarify, if people assume shopping a leisure activity and purchase items without any responsibility, this may adversely affect their income resulting in scarcity of essential items at home. In addition, a number of individuals do not hesitate to spend a lot on shopping to make themselves happy and such a phenomenon can lead them to the worst economic state such as taking huge loans for shopping for non-essential products. To conclude, although a shift in the priorities of shopping habits among some individuals from essential items to an entertainment source can be observed easily with some negative points, freedom of shopping and to make themselves happy is certainly a positive development.