In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that the advancement of new technologies allows us to consume a variety of digital content such as readings and videos. Moreover, there is an argument about the future of printed media such as newspapers and books that will get disrupted by online content, and consequently reduce the sales figures of journalists and publication companies. I personally have a balanced view of this idea. Examining a significant influx of visitors in online-based media, a fast-paced society requires people to be efficient, smart, and flexible in processing massive amounts of information. For instance, if employees are working in an investment firm, they need to consume a massive amount of business-related news. If these employees are not using devices that support online reading activities such as tablets or laptops, they will need to bring thick layers of newspapers to their office, which is inefficient. Therefore, in the long run, there will be a significant increase in the usage of online-based reading platforms. On the other hand, each person has their own preferences in terms of reading medium. Most people prefer to read from a paper-based reading medium because they find it convenient. This is because high exposure to electronic devices can irritate a person's eye, this idea can be proven by the increase of an individual myopic's figure after years of spending their time in front of their computer. At its core, there will be no total elimination of paper-based readings because a considerable number of people still prefer paper-based over online medium. However, in the near future, the number of users of online-based content will increase significantly because this medium offers flexibility for daily activities, professionally and academically.