People continue to commit crimes even after being punished for it. Why do you think this happens? How can crime be stopped?

Though having served punishment, many people keep on committing crimes. The major reasons behind this are an ineffective judicial system and lenient punishment for criminals. This essay will discuss these reasons and some possible ways to tackle crime. The foremost reason behind people becoming repeat offenders is inefficiencies in the judicial system. Many nations don’t have an efficient judiciary which can dissuade their people from indulging in criminal activities and as a result, they often resort to illegal ways of getting things done. For example, it has been seen that most cases in India go on for several years before the judiciary arrives at a decision, which makes individuals believe that they can stay out of jail for long even if they commit any major crime. Thus, many resorts to criminal activities for their benefit. As possible solutions, firstly the government needs to strengthen its judiciary by improving its efficiency to impart justice in a timely manner. To exemplify, more courts need to be opened that can fasten the processing of cases to award sentences to criminals which prohibits them from getting involved in unlawful activities again. Secondly, laws and punishments need to be made stricter, especially for repeat criminals as it would act as a deterrent for them not to commit more crimes. In the USA, for example, people are made to pay 10 times the ticket amount if they are caught violating speeding rules multiple times. To conclude, many individuals choose to commit crimes frequently because of a weak judicial system. Government interventions to improve the working of its judiciary and stricter laws are a few probable solutions to tackle this problem.