In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In certain nations, the number of persons wanting to know about the background of the houses they occupy is now on the increase. The need for this could be to have an understanding of the history, the value and public perceptions of these buildings. This knowledge can be gotten through direct answers from the owners of the residents, and neighbours or by making an official request to the ministry of housing under whose coverage the house is. The reasons for this insight are not far-fetched. Firstly, recent occupants of the building will want to know the history in order to learn about its age and previous tenants or use. In doing so, they will better understand the place they live in. Secondly, finding out about its value and public perception is another reason. In, that in a community, the residents know the origin of the structures within it and also have a perception about them which originates from their background. To illustrate this, in 2016, I was searching for a new rental apartment. Although I found one, I was not able to live in it because my research on its origin showed that it was a Stripper's club for about fifteen years until it was recently renovated. On how people can go about getting the result they need on a premise, firstly, it could be from a direct inquiry from its owners. That is before payment is made and the tenancy agreement is signed, the intending tenant could ask the landlord about the origin of the apartment. This however may not be an entirely reliable source. In addition, asking from neighbouring residents is another source. This is because these people have lived there long enough to be able to provide unbiased answers. For insurance, I used this medium in getting the information I needed to decide on forfeiting a rental apartment in 2016. Furthermore, an official request can be sent to the Ministry of Housing covering that location. However, the response from this source of research may not be quick as the other two mentioned above. To conclude, the need to know about the history of a house where one lives or intends to is one that will continue to be on an increase as the results of this research is beneficial to the occupant in making relevant decisions.