Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Humans are facing more environmental issues than ever before, and one of these issues is the loss of certain species of animals and plants. Although some people believe that this is the main environmental problem nowadays, others believe that there are more pressing problems, which will be discussed in this essay. To begin, it is true that the loss of particular animal and plant species is a major problem for various reasons. Firstly, it disrupts the ecosystem. The world we live in is meticulously organized, hence every creature, whether it is an animal or a plant or even a little organism, is crucial to its balance. If certain animals get extinct, for instance, flies and fleas will be everywhere and we will live in unsanitary conditions. Secondly, those who believe that this is an important issue argue that every creature deserves a right to exist. They believe that Earth is made for all species, not just humans, thus we should learn to co-exist with animals instead of leaving them to die out. Granted, the loss of certain species is an important matter; however, humans are currently facing more vital issues that threaten their existence. The main problem which needs our collective attention is climate change. This threatens mankind's survival as well as the survival of the whole planet along with its species. This is why it is a pressing matter, one that requires all our best efforts to bring it to a halt. Another issue is air pollution, a result of gas emissions from cars and factories. This problem does not only contribute to climate change but also jeopardizes our health. To illustrate, many children get asthma at a very young age because of the rising levels of air pollution. In conclusion, despite the importance of the loss of particular species, as it disrupts the eco-system and because all species have a right to exist, humans have more crucial issues to worry about, such as climate change and air pollution.