In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development.

Companies in recent times place emphasis on their goods being seen as new in certain ways while advertising them. This is aimed at igniting the curiosity of their viewers and increasing their revenue overall. I however think that this is a positive idea as the aim of the advertisement scheme stated above is usually achieved. To begin with, the goals of every marketing and promotional activity are to expand market share, get more people to try the commodity and ultimately enlarge the turnover. Thus, businesses promote their products as new to achieve the three goals of the marketing plan mentioned above. For instance, Unilever Plc has a brand called Lux soap which has always been advertised as a family soap. But, in 2020, the product was rebranded and featured only single ladies in the new advert. The company reported that its sales turnover increased by 15% in that year. In my opinion, such promotional activity is a positive approach. In, that it grasps the attention of the viewers as they are made to think that the promoted item is new, and as a result, are convinced to buy. Subsequently, leading to an increase in the purchasing of such goods and also a larger market size. To illustrate the same, a dairy commodity known as Cowbell had a decline in its yield in 2000, however, in 2001, the package was redesigned and was advertised in a catchy way. This scheme alone saw the income generated from this item shoot up from 10 million dollars to about twenty-five million dollars in 2001 as reported in their financials. In conclusion, the positive strategy of organisations advertising their products in such a way that it appears new has its aim of not only increasing sales and turnover but also expanding their market size in the industry.