In some countries, students do not have to do any examination at the end of the session before getting promoted to another class. How important are examinations? What other things students do to prove that they are ready to be promoted?

Many individuals are of the opinion that for attaining a higher class, assessment is not a necessity. Exams are of great importance to education as it promotes excellent academic performance. The forthcoming paragraphs will elucidate the following ways: contributing effectively and having less practical errors,as criteria other than examination. The importance of examination is indispensable,it improves a better performance academically. For example, Nursing and Midwifery Council exam which conducted yearly for student nurses, helps to filter incompetent nurses, there by producing competent ones that would contribute efficiently to the health sector. Without learners going through evaluation, there are high tendencies of producing ineffective workforce to every work sections. Furthermore, there are myriads of ways by which students can prove that they are qualified to get to another level. Firstly, contributing massively to the stage prior to the next one. This may involve,practicalizing that which he or she must have learnt efficiently, example, a student nurse knowing how to administer drugs,care of patients, maintaining class and hospital hygiene and so on. Secondly,one been able to carry out non- theoritical aspect of his or her field,and capable of yielding less mistakes. Agricultural department in school can promote their scholars to a higher class when they are able to cultivate, harvest,and present their well grown crops. In conclusion, assessing of those in learning field is a key significance to education. However, one fully able to deliver positively to his line of studies and perform with less errors in the empirical aspect of his study, can be another way of promotion rather than class tests.