Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some are of the opinion that when children are allowed to make their own decisions on everyday matters, they have a high possibility of being selfish, others claim that it is essential for them to make their own choices. In my opinion, I consider that children should not be given the right to make their own decisions. On the one hand, some people think that allowing children to make their own decisions will cause them to think only about themselves, and I agree. To begin with, children are not mature enough, so giving them the opportunity to choose basic matters, such as food and clothes, will tempt them to be selfish. Another point is that if children can choose whatever they want, they would think that it is their right to choose anything, even if it hurts other people. For example, in most Western countries, children are trained to make their own choices from a younger age, and because of this, some of them put themselves in dangerous situations, especially when they choose the wrong type of entertainment that can impact them morally. On the other hand, other people believe that making children choose their own decisions on everyday matters will shape them to be great individuals. One reason is that they can enhance their confidence level. For instance, if a child chooses something he or she likes, he or she will feel he or she has an opinion he or she can share with the people around him or her. Another reason is that some children face many things in their childhood, and they have to make decisions that are helpful for their own cases, especially when they do not have responsible adults around them. To sum up, although some believe that it is better to allow children to make their own decisions. I believe that children need someone to help them make the right decisions. Parents should, therefore, be with their children whenever they make any decisions and guide them to the right path.