Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that social media platforms bring people with the same interests together and help maintain friendships longer than before. However, some people believe that these sites have a negative impact on the ability to form personal relationships in young people. Both sides of the statement will be discussed, and my opinion will be given. Social media platforms can increase the opportunity to meet new people who share the same thoughts or interests from around the world regardless of age, gender and nationality. For example, there are a lot of Facebook groups that allow people who have pets to share pictures and stories of their beloved animals, or supportive communities for sharing problems they face in their lives and suggest solutions for others. Additionally, people who meet in these groups and communities can also become friends in real life. One clear disadvantage of social media sites is the lack of identity verification. People can be anonymous or pretend to be anyone they want. Sadly, it can increase bullying and the courage to speak hate speech to others without thinking of the consequences. In my opinion, young people need to be aware of whom they communicate with. Being bullied on the internet can affect their personality and sometimes lead to depression, which will impact their ability to form relationships both online and in real life. In conclusion, while there seems to be a great number of benefits of social media platforms, people should be aware of the dangers of using social media.