Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Rather than seeking a job, more individuals choose to start their own businesses than before. In my opinion, the advancement of technology and the change of thoughts could be two main reasons for that, although this might assert adverse impacts to a certain extent. There are two main reasons which contribute to the phenomenon. First of all, advanced technology, especially the Internet, promotes the development of industries and creates many new sections and jobs, some of which could easily be operated without a large amount of capital investment. For instance, operating an online shop is one of those popular choices, for which rent, utensil fees and labour input could be avoided. In addition, the elder generation tends to pursue a stable job, while the youth prefer to have more flexible time. In this case, being self-employed is a good choice since individuals could no more be restricted by the rules, such as check-in and check-out for work. Admittedly, there are some drawbacks when individuals decide to run their own firms. The primary consideration is that people have to take risks since they might lack adequate experience. Therefore, they could suffer a loss when an inappropriate decision is made. Besides, some new careers are associated with the Internet, such as editing online videos and presenting live streams, which means that face-to-face communication is far less than working in a company. Nevertheless, interpersonal communication is significant to people since it is an effective way to acquire new knowledge and obtain creative thoughts. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that the advent of new jobs with the development of technology and more individuals who are fond of relatively flexible jobs mainly contribute to the trend of starting their own career. However, citizens have to afford the risk of being afflicted with loss and lack of adequate communication.