Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think it can be harmful for children. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Although it is sometimes thought that young adults ought to benefit from wage employment, other people believe that it is detrimental. However, there are concerns that these have harmful effects. In my opinion, the potential dangers from these are greater than the benefits we receive. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of engaging in paid employment as an adolescent. Firstly, it helps teenagers understand the value of money. In other words, they will be able to manage and save money more as they can realize how much effort is needed to earn it. A number of children, for instance, have a part-time job in order to save for something they would otherwise be unable to afford. Therefore, giving them the opportunity to learn about budgeting and developing positive money management practices. Secondly, it teaches them responsibility and independence. This is because having a source of income helps them develop into self-supporting adults ready to enter society and the workforce. Thus, improving the nation's economy. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe children could face serious drawbacks from paid employment. One potentially dangerous problem is that, it exposes younger ones to exploitation through slave labour. This is because naivety and lack of experience are more apparent among children in the workplace. Also, children are at an early stage of physical and mental development and they ought to be in a healthy environment which is less likely at the workplace,as it is most times an extreme conditions or life-threatening situations. For example, children may be manipulated by their employer and be made to do tedious, laborious work full-time, without paying enough for their work. As a result, have a negative impact on their overall health. Another obvious issue is that it increases societal vices. That is to say, younger children may end up using their earnings to purchase many unwanted things such as cigarettes. For this reason, creating bad spending and increases the crime rate in the community. In conclusion, vulnerability to human labour and encouraging scandalous behaviour far outweigh any of the minor benefits that could result from teens engaging in paid jobs.