Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that having accommodation in a country in which you have to use a second language can result in severe social issues, as well as daily life problems. Nonetheless, from my perspective, the mentioned case is no longer a serious threat to human lives due to the following reasons. To begin with, when a person, especially travellers who do not acquire any knowledge about a foreign language can create language barriers between them and citizens. One of the best examples of this would be a foreign visitor coming across a convenience store to buy necessities but without knowing any single word of the language can create difficulties betwixt him and the owner. However, I believe this is a shortsighted view. To explain this, nowadays with the development of technology, scientists in Japan have created an artificial device that is attached to the owner’s shirt to translate for him to the guest. It was so advanced that manufacturers recently are completing it and are ready to bring it out all over the world, particularly for the elderly and adults who do not acquire any basic skills of using mobile phones. Therefore, with the advanced technology, having a hardship communicating with another language is no longer a matter for people. Furthermore, the government in many countries has applied policy as an opportunity to broaden one’s horizon about the global language. To make this clear, English is an international language that is used by most countries and can supersede the mother-tongue word if a person does not know it. Seizing a chance to facilitate the community, Vietnam which has one of the hardest languages to learn has encouraged students and adults to have a better grasp of English, and this project turned out way beyond residents’ expectations. As a result, not only do students know how to use English but also many middle-aged men or even homeless people understand it so that eventually easier to have a conversation with holidaymakers. Besides, achieving English is also useful for an adult to seek a possibility to land an adequate job abroad as well as owning a prospective CV. Thus, educationalization is also a solution to prevent any barrier to communication between people. In conclusion, after all the aforementioned reasons, it is no doubt that the innovation in technology and the approach to setting up a plan for gaining a transnational language can avert some outstanding issues.