Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an argument by some people that nowadays, many individuals no longer observe the reason behind cultural and religious heritage, rather they use this period to only enjoy themselves. However, I strongly disagree with this notion. In recent days, thoughts are going about suggesting that, the population partaking in traditional and religious festivals are doing so in order to only have merriment and they do not pay attention to the meaning of the festive period. But I refuse to agree with this idea because up until date cultures and traditions are still one of the important courses that are being taught in schools so children still understand why such occasion hold. Furthermore, the celebration always goes hand-in-hand with the norms guiding it. For instance, during Christmas, people go to church to worship and they also partake in other happy moments in the village square plus the gift they share among themselves which depict love. Another reason why I disagree with the stated opinion is the fact that families still sacrificed a lot for the sake of the ethic of the land. For instance, during New Year, a lot of folk travel from far and near to celebrate this important event with their relatives and neighbours thereby upholding its value which is unity and Peace. To illustrate further, in my community crowd even the ones outside of the country most times come back just to observe the new Yam festival and also they partake in every ritual performed on that special day. In conclusion, there is a contentious argument that the majority of individuals have abandoned the worth of their cultural and religious heritage and in place of ethics, they tend to only have fun among themselves. In contrast, I strongly disagree with such a conclusion, and the reason for my disagreement is that cultural ethics are still a subject in school up until this day and young stars have the knowledge about its importance of it. Additionally, society still sacrifices a lot to see that they respect the rituals of the Land.