Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a heated discussion around art as a subject for students to learn at school. Many people see learning art as equally important as other subjects, while others think it is a waste of time. As far as I am concerned, art is essential and invaluable. I can understand why some people believe it is a waste of time. Since most students do not need to take an exam for art to enter university. Studying art seems trivial to those who think high grades are all that matters. Therefore, art is not viewed as important by those people as Math, English, or Chemistry. Due to their short-term view, the number of people with such a mentality is not a minority around the world. However, taking art classes at schools such as painting, music and design can help students not only relax and have a little more fun under pressure but also broaden their horizons and foster a positive mindset toward their personal lives and this world. For example, students who take music classes can not only learn how to appreciate music but also help them develop self-expression and creativity, which will increase their confidence and sense of identity, encouraging them to become more independent adults in the future. On the contrary, it may not be enough to study so-called "crucial" subjects like math and biology all day to achieve those positive results. In conclusion, I value art as the core subject as other subjects. Although I can understand why there have been two groups of people standing totally opposite on this topic, personally, I still think every student should be given such opportunities when they are young.