Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are divergent opinions concerning organisations sponsoring sports activities, while some group of individuals agreed that it is a welcome idea, others argued it has no benefits.In my opinion, the merits outweigh the demerit because it makes the firm popular. On one hand, companies supporting sports tournaments is an avenue for them to be widely known by the society. This creates awareness and makes the populace to be aware of their products, their uses, promos if any. In other words, it promotes sales and profits when more people patronise their goods and services. For instance, 2010, world Cup sports competition was sponsored by the Coca-Cola company, and it was recored the Coca-Cola generated a tremendous revenue that boosted their economy. In addition, it is a way in generating employment for the young people. Young individuals that are creative could be employed to design the advertising strategy, be part of those to be used by the firm to display colorful animation. On the other hand, there drawbacks, firstly, an industry championing a sports outing could lose out. Sponsoring a competition requires a huge amount of money and is better for a bigger company than a smaller one. For example, if a particular organisation at the end of the day does not have enough sales, it may affect income generation. Furthermore, an alcoholic company supporting a game may creat a bias in the mind of people based on religion. This may cause low views because it is against some individual's morals and belief and consequently the sports becomes boring to them. In conclusion, I agree that sponsoring a sports competition is more advantageous as it gives wide range of popularity and good financial benefits.