The key to solving the environmental problem is simple: the present generation is willing to accept a less comfortable life for the sake of the future generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The environment is a crucial factor in human life that concerns governments and individuals worldwide. Some people say that if people who are living in the current era give priority to needed actions to improve it instead of their own comfort, the environment’s issues will be addressed. In my opinion, I disagree with this viewpoint, and I will explain why in the following paragraphs. Solving the environmental problem is not as simple as some people think. If we are aware of what is happening to our environment and its effects, we will understand that it needs our efforts more than we used to think of it. For example, our oceans are facing dangerous problems, ranging from plastic debris to overfishing. In a 2005 report by a US university, 100% of sea turtles were found to have plastic inside them. For an already endangered species, this is disastrous. This report also pointed out that more than 80% of the world’s fish species are overfished, and destructive modern fishing practices and greed for profit without thought for long-term sustainability, have led to the catch of fish and fish stocks worldwide having plummeted as a result. Moreover, according to the IPCC climate change report in 2021, unless there are immediate, rapid, and large-scale reductions in greenhouse gas emissions, the global warming level will reach 1.5o C or even 2o C in the next decade. In addition, all these issues impact heavily our health. Air pollution from factories, recycling centres, and vehicles, among other causes, is a leading factor in childhood cancers, asthma, birth defects, and fatalities. Admittedly, we have taken some steps to limit environmental pollution, such as propagating campaigns about environmental problems and how to improve them, or applying the 3Rs in life, which are recycle, reuse, and reduce. However, to save the environment, must be the joining of everyone; businesses, organisations, and governments all over the world with hard work, money, and a clear, smart, and long-term strategy can make it possible. In conclusion, it is not easy to address environmental issues because this is the most complicated problem that humans are dealing with. Therefore, it needs the attention of the whole population of the planet.