Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others think that the circumstances of a crime, and the reason for committing it should be considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views.

Crimes are usually categorized as being unlawful and lately crime rates have been massively increasing around the globe. While there are some of us who believe that there has to be a fixed prosecution for each type of crime committed. Others, feel that motivation for committing the crime should always been taken into account while deciding the punishment for an individual crime. In my opinion, both these views are presented with the thought of well-being and hence they should be discussed to gain a proper understanding as some statements do convince me for particular reasons. Firstly, the law works quote strictly and fairly because this system has been developing for centuries. Each loophole is taken under consideration and lawful bodies find ways to fix this by acknowledging the flaws. Most of the time, corruption is treated fairly under the lawful eyes of the jurisdiction system. From thieves, robbers, murderers and betrayers, all are brought under the law and are prosecuted for their crimes. For an instance, there are new laws enforced in Vietnam to ban drinking and driving because drunk drivers mainly cause car accidents. According to that Driver's license will be revoked for a period of 10 to 12 months and they will be fined a fixed amount which is enough to make them realize their mistakes. Now, not all forms crimes can be intended as gruesome. Some crimes can be innocent too and they can be rectified by minute punishment and most of the times educating the defaulter. Let us assume for an instance, a 14 year old teenager pick pockets a candy from the provision store and gets caught by the security through their CCTV footage. Although pick pocketing is a crime, it cannot be compared to the likes of a hit and run or even an gruesome murder. Yet there were many precedents in the Vietnamese Law that pushed an adolescent to jail for three years because of bread stealing. Hence, the critical point is that order must be given to an appropriate holder. In conclusion, crimes have fixed sentences under the law. However, it has shown many faulty evaluations under many contexts, and I believe the solution is to put the power to a fair judgement.