Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that teaching children to be good citizens is the duty of the parents, others are of the opinion that learning morals should be done in school. The family is known to be the functional unit of society, parents being part of the family make the first contact with all human beings. I am of the opinion that inculcating the right morals in youngsters is the sole responsibility of parents. It is general knowledge that children spend most of their early days with their parents. During the infancy stage, babies are nurtured at home,they are always with their parents, especially the mother, it is at this period that parents are supposed to educate the younger ones, cultivating the good morals in them through their actions. It is often said that children learn by imitation, whatever they see or hear registers in their subconscious mind. For instance, kids learn to be honest with their parents. Meanwhile, guardians have the duty of evaluating the behaviour of the wards from time to time and disciplining them where necessary. This play a vital role in transmitting knowledge to the kids. However, schools as an institution for learning transmit good moral behaviour to their students. Most of the curricula used in the elementary classes contain basic knowledge pupils should develop. Teachers reinforce good behaviours as well as punish bad conduct. For example, in a recent movie called spare the child, the man narrated how he never stole for his entire childhood because he was severely reprimanded by the teacher when he stole his classmate's pencil. So schools partake in making students comport themselves in society. In summary, learning establishments should always ensure that their students are well-mannered in the community, although I am of the opinion that parents ought to educate their children to behave well in the public.