Working is taking a more important role in people's lives. Why are people working so much? Do you think this trend is good or bad?

Work is arguably getting a higher and higher priority in most people's lives than a few decades ago, in terms of daily working hours and average retirement age. We are digging into the reasons for this phenomenon in this essay. First and foremost, inflation brings immense pressure to people. After a prolonged period of unrestricted printing of money, the price of virtually everything needed in our daily life, such as food and fuel, is on a long march. This leads to a horrendous situation to the lower-income groups and they have no choice but to work longer hours or retire later to meet the ends. Even worse is the spike in accommodation costs. The unlimited supply of money triggers a tremendous boom in the housing market and people who want to own their homes have to work their tails off to save money for a down payment. The high worth of housing triggers the rent to go up, and the skyrocketing housing prices and rents then form a vicious cycle. Consequently, both the homeowners and renters need to pay more, and at the end of the day, they need to work harder to make up for the shortfall. Furthermore, globalization has taken the competition to an utterly different level. In the past, jobs were protected pretty well by labour unions. Today, they can be taken by lower-cost countries and the public is well aware of that. As a result, they take courses in their leisure time to improve their skill level. We can say that this is a kind of work in a broad sense too. Extremely high youth unemployment rates is another by-product of globalisation. For example, it can be as high as 40% in Europe. With their children jobless, parents have no choice but to extend their retirement. In my opinion, longer working hours are definitely not desirable. It makes people exhausted and reduces the time they have for family life. In some countries, for example China, people consider long working hours to be a reason for the reluctance to have babies. To conclude, a raft of economic reasons are the causes of work being more important to people in terms of hours. Although this is treated as detrimental to personal psychological health, we see no immediate solution to this phenomenon.