Today more and more tourists are visiting places where the conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara deserts or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, tourism is so popular that a lot of tourists have already got bored by the mainstream countries tourist spots and want something new. Some of them now turn to places that are traditionally less popular such as Africa and Antarticar. This phenomenon brings advantages and disadvantages as well. In this essay I will come accross them one by one. To the tourists themselves, travelling to these countries obviously can bring them new and fresh experiences, at least they do not need to visit the same old places once again. For example, an old colleague of mine went to Kenya last year for a safari. He posted pictures of wild lions and zebras on his social media account, albeit the pictures are taken from far away and very small. It is like he has gathered another feather on his cap and trying to show off. The spill-over of tourists to these poorer nations do help their economies much. More often than not, these countries with great tourism resources, like Kenya mentioned above, do not have sophisticated industries and are weak in export ability. With the influx of foreign tourists, the catering and transport sectors of these countries can provide more jobs to the poor public. On the other hand, the spreading out of tourists is not free from hazards. The most concerning one is perhaps pollution. The developing countries which these tourists flock to usually do not have strong enforcement ability on environmental protection laws. As a result, waste material is left everywhere. It is exempified by restaurants which bribe local officials to keep a blind eye on their pumping sewage into rivers and lakes. In conclusion, the spillover of tourists from traditional tourist spots in developed countries to new locations creates exciting opportunities for those developing countries, however it also presents challenges to protect the scenic environment there. It seems to me that time and wisdom will be required to tackle this dilemma.