The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore, it is important that products are made to last. Governments should discourage people from constantly buying up-to-date or fashionable products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world exploitation and exploration of natural resources, are at their peak for the sake of personal benefit. This is an alarming situation and there is a dire need of taking precautionary measures. Despite this, I do not agree to some extent to limit the use of modern products and encourage companies to make long-lasting products. By doing so, we are compromising safety issues and depriving people to take benefits of modern and advanced technology. There is no doubt that modern products are designed in accordance with the latest technology and safety measures. For instance, today’s cars are much better in performance and more secure than older cars, as a new car has the state of the art features such as the airbag, camera and internet connectivity etc. Those functions make cars more reliable and durable and comfortable for their users. Additionally, being a part of the modern and diverse world, one should be equipped with modern products to create ease and comfort in their life. Durable and long-lasting products will create discrimination among people, as such products require a huge amount for their development and would not be within reach of poor people. Moreover, this will have negative impacts on new and inexperienced companies to develop kinds of products that demand enormous funds and time. Thus, it will cause unemployment as not too many businesses would be able to bear huge expenses. Frequently changing the car or other luxury items by the rich is a negative tendency and the government take steps to aware them, but it would not be successful to a large extent. The government ultimately won’t be able to prevent rich people from doing so. In this regard, other alternatives like recycling products whenever possible, imposing more tax on luxury items etc. could be more effective. To sum up, I would like to say that government should come up with pragmatic approaches to devising an alternative to natural resources than confiding people not to use the latest and modern products.