TASK 2: The detailed description about crime will affect the people and cause many social problems. Some people say that the media should be strictly controlled. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the influence of detailed descriptions of perpetrators on individuals and social issues. Some people argue that the media should be tightly regulated. From my perspective, I partially agree with this idea to some certain extent. Without a shadow of a doubt, detailed information about offenders may bring conducive impacts on people’s awareness. A comprehensive explanation of the offense will heighten the perception of misbehavior or breaking the law, as well as inform residents of the consequences of that wicked act. For example in Vietnam, the daily news on television frequently provides information about delinquents, including videos about how they commit crimes and the punishments they get for their actions so that people are aware of the crimes and do not commit them, thereby reducing the crime rate. Therefore, the detailed description of crimes does wonders for increasing people’s consciousness. While the redeeming features of revealing the detailed description of law-breakers are widely acknowledged, its drawbacks still linger. Revealing information about offenders will have a negative impact on both their families and themselves. For instance, when a criminal's information about their family is disclosed, their relatives may suffer from hateful and vicious comments despite the fact that they are blameless persons. And when the perpetrators finish their sentence, they may be boycotted by the information that has spread all over the social networks about their crimes, leaving them with no way to reintegration into society. Hence, this brings adverse effects for the delinquents related to the case and their families. In conclusion, although the precise depiction of crimes provides numerous benefits to people, the media should be controlled in order to avoid harming relatives and offenders.