Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Environmentalists and advocates of nature conservation are of the opinion that the extinction of specific plant and animal species is not the burning issue of the present age, whereas there are others who believe that there are greater issues to be addressed. In my opinion, the destruction of species diversity is not the prominent matter that has to be considered. Though ecosystems are losing their equilibrium through the elimination of keystone species, resolving the root causes of extinction which includes global warming, increase in non-biodegradable wastes, and pollution of natural resources is some of the problems that need immediate attention. On one hand, there are people who opine that nature is losing its diversity because of rise in rates of extinction. One of the main reasons is that we have witnessed a huge increase in the loss of endangered species due to reckless human activities. For instance, in recent years, biodiversity hotspots with a high density of species richness is under threat because of forest forest and deforestation. Secondly, habitat loss of endangered species has been the outcome of industrialisation. Consequently, several varieties of plants and animals are being wiped out from our ecosystems. On the other hand, others are of the opinion that the promotion of conservation projects is not the need of the hour. Firstly, this is because, apart from conservation, there is a necessity to confront the cause of biodiversity loss, which is inappropriate and unregulated human activities. For example, the drastic climate change in recent years is the elevation in levels of greenhouse gases released from man-made processes causing global warming. Furthermore, a colossal escalation in the use of harmful and Indestructible waste products has polluted our natural resources. In my opinion, before we turn our focus toward nature conservation, resolving the root causes that disrupt ecosystem equilibrium is important. Unchecked human activities such as rapid infrastructural expansions need to be curtailed. In conclusion, while there are some who promote ecological conservation as the most crucial environmental problem, there are others who are of the view that there are other more significant issues. I would like to reiterate my opinion that the first step to initiating environmental conservation is to address its root cause- unsustainable human developments.