The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that money is the most essential asset for one’s survival. It is claimed that for a better quality of life and survival in difficult circumstances, the government should provide basic wages to everyone. I completely stand in favour of this statement and this essay will discuss why it is necessary and what consequences we face in absence of it. To begin with, due to the lack of monetary support from the government, many people have to work for far fewer wages than they should be getting, only so that they can earn bread and butter for their survival. Many employers take advantage of it and exploit their employees to work for fewer salaries. In addition to that, many are committing suicide and falling into depression which is affecting the future generation negatively. Children growing up in such a society will tend to follow the same path. So clearly, there should be a minimum amount that the state should equip the citizens with for building a better society. Due to lower financial savings, we are facing many serious consequences, one of which is increasing crime. Many unemployed educated people are indulging in fraud. A good illustration of it is the spam calls we receive asking for credit card numbers. In addition to that, the country is dealing with the problem of brain drain, where many high-skilled workers are moving abroad to earn more money which is causing serious harm to the economy because we could that talent to develop our country. Reports suggest that 35% of scientists in NASA are Indian. To summarize, it is quite evident from the above arguments, that it is important for the government to provide the basic income to all the adult population otherwise we might end up losing our best-skilled people and be drawn deeper into crimes. As a solution to this, the government could use some money from the taxes to pay when someone is unemployed and make some norms for private sector companies to pay a basic hourly wage.